1. K-State home
  2. »Office of Student Sucess
  3. »DSP Homepage

Developing Scholars

Discover DSPApply to become a Developing ScholarDeveloping Scholars Symposium

Due to K-State's limited operations in response to COVID-19, DSP staff will be available remotely.

Contact us

Office staff are still available to answer questions related to the Developing Scholar Program. We can be reached at breneek@ksu.edu or at 785-532-5385.

2019-2020 DSP Abstract Booklet

Even though the 20th Annual Research Symposium scheduled for April 5, 2020 was cancelled, we wanted to highlight the work students and faculty have been doing this past year. Below are the abstracts from our student researchers. We are very proud of the work they accomplished this year!

2020 abstract booklet cover

Celebrating 20 years of Undergraduate Research - Meet the class of 2019-2020!

2019-2020 DSP grou

2019-2020 Developing Scholars Awards:

The following awards were presented to DSP students at the 19th Annual Developing Scholars Research Symposium:

  • Pay it Forward Alumni Awards: Jesus Gonzalez-Morales  (Biomedical Engineering), Cesar Aparicio (Chemistry)
  • Frank Cortez Memorial Award: Daijah Jones (Sociology)
  • Diligence Awards: Sonia Barrett  (Chemistry), Joanne Gomendoza (Psychology), Luis Lopez (Animal Science & Industry)
  • Promise Awards: Nyah Brandon (Life Sciences), Elena Carlos (Biology)
  • Above & Beyond Awards: Carmen Del Real (Life Sciences), Jaden Castinado (Food Science & Industry)
  • James R. Coffman Awards of Excellence
    • First year: Tommy Herrera (Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology)
    • First year honorable mention: Emily Gibson  (Biology)
    • Second year: Gina Reyes (Nutritional Sciences)
    • Second year honorable mention: Lara Soto (Biology)
    • Third year: Jerica Garcia (Kinesiology)
    • Third year honorable mention: Sydney Lenox  (Apparel and Textiles)
  • Eyes on the Prize Award: Emanuel Serrano (Kinesiology)
  • Eclipse Award: Azriel Minjarez (Biology)
  • Exemplary Scholar Award: Citlally Orozco  (Political Science)
  • Anita Cortez Award: Michelle Coca   (Medical Biochemistry)


Apply to the Developing Scholars Program.

Apply to Kansas State University.

Schedule a Visit to Kansas State University.

Explore scholarship opportunities at Kansas State University.

Scholar Spotlight


Jaasiel Duarte is a junior from Kansas City, Kansas majoring in Architecture. He is an undergraduate researcher under the mentorship of department head of Interior Architecture and Product Design, Nathan Howe. 500 Internal Server Error

Internal Server Error

The server encountered an internal error and was unable to complete your request. Either the server is overloaded or there is an error in the application.

Duarte acknowledges that doing research as an undergraduate student has been an indispensable experience. He encourages other students to get involved in research and give oneself the opportunity to think outside the box. Students can only gain knowledge and networking experience by getting involved – it’s for anybody and everybody who is ready to put in the work.

In Fall 2017, Duarte was chosen to represent his Architecture Design Studio class in the College of Architecture's annual Bowman Design Forum. He placed third in the competition, receiving a $500 scholarship.